Marietta City Schools discusses upcoming bond levy

By  | 

MARIETTA, Oh.-(WTAP) Here is a list of upcoming meetings on the November 5 Marietta Schools bond levy.

All meetings are scheduled to be held at the Washington County Public Library at 615 5th St, in the Lower Level Meeting Room.

Wednesday, September 18 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Thursday, September 19 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM

Tuesday, September 24 6:00 PM - 8:00 PM

Thursday, September 26 5:30 PM - 7:30 PM

Tuesday, October 1 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM

Thursday, October 3 5:30 PM - 7:30 PM

Tuesday, October 8 1:00 PM - 3:00 PM

Thursday, October 10 5:30 PM - 7:30 PM

Tuesday, October 15 1:00 PM - 3:00 PM

Thursday, October 17 5:30 PM - 7:30 PM

Tuesday, October 22 5:30 PM - 7:30 PM

Thursday, October 24 5:30 PM - 7:30 PM

Tuesday, October 29 5:30 PM - 7:30 PM

Thursday, October 31 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM


The Marietta Board of Education is seeking a bond levy to raise money toward construction of new school buildings, located on property it has acquired near Washington State Community College.

The classrooms in those buildings are projected to be more modern, more open, than the rooms to which parents and students alike have been accustomed.

"There's much more spaces where the kids are working collaboratively," says BOE Vice-President Russ Garrison, "dealing with the technology integrated in the classroom, and the variety of spaces available to use that."

Issues raised at a public meeting Tuesday ranged from the cost of the project-estimated at $85 million, including money provided by the state of Ohio-to the possible closings of some school buildings. One of the school's properties, Washington Elementary School, is more than 100 years old. The newest, Marietta High School, is more than 50 years old. In between are buildings like Harmar Elementary School, built during the baby boom era of the 1950's.

Eventually, the discussion came around to how the property taxes from the levy would affect local businesses. One participant, however, said the current schools have been a deterrent to attracting businesses to the community.

"When they came to the schools, it was the kiss of death; they gave it the thumbs down," he said. "My old saying was, 'when they fly into Wood County, they made up their mind by the time they came across the Williamstown bridge. How much does this cost us not to do this?"

The 5.36 mill levy would cost $187 a year in property taxes to the owner of a home worth $100,000.