New Parkersburg City Council members begin

Published: Jan. 3, 2017 at 9:20 PM EST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

Tom Joyce is the new Parkersburg Mayor. Along with Joyce, there are several new faces in Parkersburg office.

New city council members include: Dave McCrady, Bob Mercer, Eric Barber, John Reed, Zac Stanley, Jeff Fox and Sharon Kuhl.

Kuhl is the only woman on council.

"I told them to take it easy on me, but I'm the one that's going to need to take it easy on them because we are going to see progress in the city of Parkersburg," she said.

She was sworn in by her husband, magistrate Joe Kuhl.

"He is my backbone. He is my strength. When he was re-elected as magistrate, I was one proud wife, but when I won district two city council person, he was so proud of me."

JR Carpenter and Mike Reynolds are the only two returning council members. After the swearing-in ceremony, the first council meeting with the new members began.

Carpenter was elected president and Reynolds was chosen as vice president.

Also discussed in the meeting, only two department heads will be changing. There's a new public works director, Everett Shears.

Mayor Joyce will be making a recommendation soon for a new personnel director.