OSU's Fields and Young among Heisman finalists

Published: Dec. 9, 2019 at 9:34 PM EST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

NEW YORK (AP) _ Oklahoma quarterback Jalen Hurts and Ohio State teammates quarterback Justin Fields and defensive end Chase Young join LSU quarterback Joe Burrow as Heisman Trophy finalists.

Burrow is the clear front-runner to win the Heisman on Saturday night in New York after a record-breaking season, leading the 13-0 Tigers to the top seed in the College Football Playoff. LSU hasn't produced a Heisman winner since Billy Cannon in 1959.

Fields and Young are the first teammates to be finalists since Oklahoma had quarterback Baker Mayfield and receiver Dede Westbrook at the Heisman ceremony in 2016.

Hurts is the third Oklahoma quarterback in the last four seasons to be a Heisman finalist, including the last two winners in Kyler Murray and Mayfield.